Stellar Awards: Tasha Cobbs & Kirk Franklin emerged as big winners (Full List)

The 35th Stellar Awards night was held virtually on Sunday, August 23rd with Tasha Cobbs and Kirk Franklin emerging as the biggest winner on the night – a show hosted by Kirk Franklin, Jonathan McReynolds, and Koryn Hawthorne.

Tasha Cobbs Leonard took away the prestigious and most coveted artist of the year award at the Stellar Gospel Music Awards, which were presented in a virtual event that aired on BET on Sunday (Aug. 23). Leonard also won the contemporary female vocalist of the year.

But Kirk Franklin, who co-hosted the show with Jonathan McReynolds and Koryn Hawthorne, won more awards overall — five. He took male vocalist of the year and contemporary male vocalist of the year, album of the year and contemporary album of the year, and producer of the year.

Donald Lawrence won four awards, including song of the year for “Deliver Me (This Is My Exodus).”

Stella Awards 2020

Here’s the complete list of 2020 Stellar Gospel Music Award winners:


Artist of the year and contemporary female vocalist of the year: Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Heart. Passion. Pursuit (Live at Passion City Church) (Motown Gospel)

Album of the year, contemporary album of the year, male vocalist of the year and contemporary male vocalist of the year: Kirk Franklin, Long Live Love: (Fo Yo Soul/RCA/RCA Inspiration)

Traditional album of the year, traditional male vocalist of the year and traditional choir of the year: John P. Kee, I Made It Out (Entertainment One)

Albertina Walker female vocalist of the year and traditional female vocalist of the year: Le’Andria Johnson, Goshen (RCA Inspiration)

Duo/chorus group of the year and contemporary duo/chorus group of the year: The Walls Group, Friend in Me (Wall2Wall Entertainment/My Block Records)

New artist of the year and rap hip hop gospel album of the year: Pastor Mike Jr., Live Free (Black Smoke Worldwide)

Choir of the year and contemporary choir of the year: Donald Lawrence presents the Tri-City Singers, Goshen (RCA Inspiration)

Song of the year: “Deliver Me (This Is My Exodus),” Donald Lawrence, William Stokes, Marshon Lewis, Robert Woolridge & Desmond Davis (RCA Inspiration)

Producer of the year: Kirk Franklin, Ronald Hill & Phil Thornton, Long Live Love (Fo Yo Soul/RCA/RCA Inspiration)

Traditional duo/chorus group of the year: Kurt Carr & the Kurt Carr Singers, Bless Somebody Else (Kurt Carr Gospel/RCA Inspiration)

Urban/inspirational single or performance of the year: Donald Lawrence presents the Tri-City Singers, “Deliver Me (This Is My Exodus)” (RCA Inspiration)

Music video of the year:  Matt DeLisi, “Love Theory” (Fo Yo Soul/RCA/RCA Inspiration)

Instrumental album of the year: Ben Tankard, Rise! (BEN-Jamin’ Universal Music)

Special event album of the year: Various Artists, Greenleaf: Season 3 (Music from the Original TV Series) (Lionsgate Entertainment)

Youth project of the year: Gospel Kids, Gospel Kids Present…Christian Soldiers (Tyscot Records)

Quartet of the year: Keith Wonderboy Johnson & Josh Myles, Inspirational Project (Timeless Music)

Praise and worship album of the year: JJ Hairston, Miracle Worker (JamesTown Music/Entertainment One)

Recorded music packaging of the year: Derek Blanks. Bless Somebody Else (Kurt Carr Gospel, RCA Inspiration)

Major market of the year: WPZE Praise 102.5, Atlanta

Large market of the year: WPZS Praise 100.9 FM, Charlotte

Medium market of the year: WXHL 89.1, Wilmington

Small market of the year: WJAY 98.3 FM & 1280 AM, Mullins

Internet station of the year: U Gospel,

Gospel announcer of the year: Meta Washington, Sirius XM, Satellite Radio




Award-List Source:


You might also like